NPR Fires Juan Williams For The Unpardonable Offense Of Being On FoxNews

Juan Williams is an unabashed liberal. I disagree with him on most policy issues, and for many years during which I listened to Williams on NPR I was not particularly fond of him.  I thought his reporting, like most of NPR’s, was tiresomely imbalanced to the left.  And I am sure the fact that NPR is taxpayer funded liberal institution is part of what annoyed me.

Over the years, however, Williams has grown on me and I have come to respect him as a commentator.  He holds decidedly liberal views with which I disagree, but Williams is a rational, fundamentally honest, and articulate proponent of those views.  I especially enjoy the spirited disagreements Williams and Charles Krauthammer often have on the FoxNews All Star Panel.

So this morning, we learn from Instapundit that NPR fired Williams for saying this during a Fox News appearance:

On “The O’Reilly Factor” on Monday night, Williams said, “I mean, look, Bill, I’m not a bigot. You know the kind of books I’ve written about the civil rights movement in this country. But when I get on the plane, I got to tell you, if I see people who are in Muslim garb and I think, you know, they are identifying themselves first and foremost as Muslims, I get worried. I get nervous.”

Here’s a newsflash, NPR — lots of Americans are nervous about people who “are identifying themselves first and foremost as Muslims.”  People who identify themselves first and foremost as Muslims — as opposed to Americans, other nationalities, or humans in general — are responsible for 9/11, suicide bombings in Israel, Afghanistan and Iraq, the USS Cole bombing, the Fort Hood shootings, and so on.   That is not to say that all Muslims or Muslims who wear traditional garb are involved in or responsible for such things, but all of these things were done by Muslims in the name of Islam by people who view themselves as Muslim above all else.

Moreover, one need only look across the pond to see what happens when you import a large population of Muslims who identify themselves first and foremost as Muslims, as opposed to viewing themselves as immigrants trying to assimilate and become part of their adoptive nations.  See here (A group of [80] Islamic extremists has burst into a mosque near Paris during a prayer service and threatened to kill the local Imam, Hassen Chalghoumi, because of his efforts to improve relations between Jews and Muslims.”), and here, and here, and here.

Meanwhile, NPR unabashedly posts such things as cartoons calling Tea Partiers “tea baggers.”  You see, it is not what you say, but who you are saying it about, that matters to NPR.

Someone remind me, why are taxpayers continuing to fund NPR?

Published in: on October 21, 2010 at 10:22 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mangyredbonehound.wordpress.com/2010/10/21/npr-fires-juan-williams-for-the-unpardonable-offense-of-being-on-foxnews/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

